Paleontologists

Wed, 2020-08-12

A new species of crocodilian related to modern alligators has been identified from fossils found in Mississippi and Alabama, the United States. Named Deinosuchus schwimmeri, it lived between 75 and 82 million years ago (...

Tue, 2020-08-11

Tanystropheus hydroides, the newly-described species of reptile that lived 242 million years ago (Triassic period), was about 6 m (20...

Sat, 2020-08-08

Paleontologists have found trapped in a piece of Burmese amber a unique scene of a prehistoric ‘hell ant’ (subfamily Haidomyrmecinae) attacking a nymph of ...

Thu, 2020-08-06

A team of researchers said Wednesday that a fossilized non-avian dinosaur egg, discovered in western Japan in a stratum dating back 110 million years, has been recognized as the world's smallest by Guinness World Records.

Wed, 2020-08-05

The cervical rib of a long-necked dinosaur from northwest China provides the oldest known evidence to date that early mammals fed on dinosaur meat around 160 million years ago.

Tue, 2020-08-04

A collaboration led by the Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) and McMaster University has led to the discovery and diagnosis of an aggressive malignant bone cancer—an osteosarcoma—for the first time ever in a dinosaur. No malignant cancers (tumours that can spread...

Sat, 2020-08-01

A new genus and species of owl that lived 55 million years ago (Eocene epoch) has been identified from a partial skeleton found in Wyoming, the United States....

Sun, 2020-08-30

Geological evidence suggests the known dinosaur groups diverged early on, supporting the traditional dinosaur family tree.

Tue, 2020-07-28

A team of paleontologists from Italy and Spain has compared the only well-preserved skull of Crocodylus checchiai, an extinct species of crocodile that lived in what is now Libya about 7...

Fri, 2020-07-24

A team of scientists from the University of Tübingen has studied the diet of Arctic foxes (Vulpes lagopus) and red foxes (Vulpes...

Pages