Prehistoric Flora & Fauna

Fri, 2020-07-24

About 800 million years ago, a flurry of small asteroids slammed into the moon, pocking the lunar surface with clusters of...

Tue, 2020-07-14

The Triassic Period, about 252 to 201 million years ago, was a time of volatile change, particularly during an interval known as the Carnian (about 237 to 227...

Tue, 2020-06-30

The age of the dinosaurs ended 66 million years ago with the ultimate bad day, not a prolonged period of climate change wrought by volcanic activity, according to new research.

Wed, 2020-06-24

An international team of geologists has found the first direct evidence that volcanic eruptions in the...

Thu, 2020-06-18

Paleontologists have identified a new genus and species of fern-like plant from a single fossilized specimen collected in the New England region of New South Wales, Australia.

Tue, 2020-06-09

IMAGINE STANDING ON THE EDGE of a giant crater, knowing nothing about how this massive hole in the ground came to be. Or figuring out that a cataclysmic event like an asteroid hitting the Earth killed the dinosaurs, but having no visible...

Mon, 2020-06-01

A team of University of Rhode Island scientists and statisticians conducted a sophisticated quantitative analysis of a mass extinction that occurred 215 million years ago and found that the cause of the extinction was not an asteroid or climate change, as had...

Wed, 2020-05-27

A clear picture is emerging of why the asteroid that struck Earth 66 million years ago was so catastrophic.

Thu, 2020-05-07

A species of plant that grew about 400 million years ago (Early Devonian period) produced a spectrum of spore sizes, which is an...

Tue, 2020-04-28

A large number of ferocious predators, including predatory dinosaurs, pterosaurs and crocodile-like creatures, made Sahara the most dangerous place on Earth, according to an analysis of fossils from the...

Pages