Prehistoric Flora & Fauna

Wed, 2020-09-16

Never underestimate pond scum. The asteroid impact that killed most of the dinosaurs 66 million years ago also created conditions for ocean microbes to flourish, according to a new study. In microscopic rock crystals, researchers have found evidence that massive...

Fri, 2020-09-04

A team of paleontologists from the University of Alberta has found the fossilized tracks of a marine wood-boring organism that lived approximately 110 million years ago (...

Wed, 2020-09-02

Paleontologists in China have unearthed the fossil evidence of a mimetic relationship between two species of moth lacewings and the co-occurring fossil lichen Daohugouthallus...

Fri, 2020-08-28

Purussaurus, a top predator that lived in the wetlands of proto-Amazonia between 6 and 13 million years ago (Miocene epoch), hunted not only aquatic animals but also land-...

Fri, 2020-07-24

About 800 million years ago, a flurry of small asteroids slammed into the moon, pocking the lunar surface with clusters of...

Tue, 2020-07-14

The Triassic Period, about 252 to 201 million years ago, was a time of volatile change, particularly during an interval known as the Carnian (about 237 to 227...

Tue, 2020-06-30

The age of the dinosaurs ended 66 million years ago with the ultimate bad day, not a prolonged period of climate change wrought by volcanic activity, according to new research.

Wed, 2020-06-24

An international team of geologists has found the first direct evidence that volcanic eruptions in the...

Thu, 2020-06-18

Paleontologists have identified a new genus and species of fern-like plant from a single fossilized specimen collected in the New England region of New South Wales, Australia.

Tue, 2020-06-09

IMAGINE STANDING ON THE EDGE of a giant crater, knowing nothing about how this massive hole in the ground came to be. Or figuring out that a cataclysmic event like an asteroid hitting the Earth killed the dinosaurs, but having no visible...

Pages