Prehistoric Flora & Fauna

Thu, 2020-11-12

Chinese researchers have found a peculiar fossil plant with leaves and fruits of different morphologies dating back about 125 million years, according to a local research institute.

Fri, 2020-11-06

Scientists explain the significance of Chengjiang fauna, exceptionally preserved fossils found in China

Sat, 2020-10-31

New research by an international team of scientists shows how marine organisms were forced to 'reboot' to survive following the...

Wed, 2020-10-21

The end-Permian mass extinction, also known as the Permian-Triassic extinction event and the Great Dying, is the largest mass extinction event in...

Tue, 2020-10-06

An asteroid impact 66 million years ago may have released trillions of pounds of partially burned fossil carbon into Earth’s upper atmosphere as a cloud of black soot, significantly contributing to the ensuing global darkness, cooling and...

Sat, 2020-09-26

First-of-its-kind international study is rooted in 17 million year-old whale fossil.

Thu, 2020-09-17

The Carnian Pluvial Episode, a major climate change event that occurred around 234 to 232 million years ago (Late...

Wed, 2020-09-16

Never underestimate pond scum. The asteroid impact that killed most of the dinosaurs 66 million years ago also created conditions for ocean microbes to flourish, according to a new study. In microscopic rock crystals, researchers have found evidence that massive...

Fri, 2020-09-04

A team of paleontologists from the University of Alberta has found the fossilized tracks of a marine wood-boring organism that lived approximately 110 million years ago (...

Wed, 2020-09-02

Paleontologists in China have unearthed the fossil evidence of a mimetic relationship between two species of moth lacewings and the co-occurring fossil lichen Daohugouthallus...

Pages