Prehistoric Flora & Fauna

Fri, 2019-09-13

Researchers say the impact of the giant asteroid had triggered massive tsunamis and led to wildfires that were thousands of miles away.

Tue, 2019-09-10

Researchers help confirm what has always been hypothesized by examining an impact crater off the Gulf of Mexico.

Wed, 2019-09-04

A new study found that extreme changes in the atmosphere were responsible for almost 100 percent of life on Earth being killed more than 2 billion years ago.

Wed, 2019-08-14

An international team of subsurface explorers from the University of Adelaide in Australia and the University of Aberdeen in Scotland have uncovered a previously undescribed 'Jurassic World' of around 100 ancient volcanoes buried deep within the Cooper-Eromanga...

Tue, 2019-08-13

Paleontologists have discovered a 360-million-year-old (Devonian Period) fossilized forest of lycopsid trees near Xinhang in China...

Tue, 2019-08-06

A team of paleontologists led by McGill University uncovered fossil plants in eastern Canada that have produced the first quantifiable evidence of the region’s climate during the ...

Fri, 2019-07-19

The 165-million-year-old fossil of Microdocodon gracilis, a tiny, shrew-like animal, shows the earliest example of modern hyoid bones in mammal evolution.

Tue, 2019-07-09

The Sahara might seem like one of Earth’s most lifeless regions today, but its fossils show it was once a vast seaway filled with giant fish and some of the largest sea snakes the planet has ever seen.

Sat, 2019-06-29

Mass extinctions hurt land plants, but DNA shows that some fungus/plant combo organisms rose up.

Thu, 2019-04-18

Robert DePalma and Dr. Anton Oleinik teach paleontology at Florida Atlantic University in Boca Raton. In their spare time, they're making earth-shattering discoveries in North Dakota about the day 66 million years ago when an...

Pages