Q & A

Fri, 2020-09-04

We will now take a closer look at the famous fossil organism Kimberella, which is a typical member of the Ediacara-type biota (Muscente et al...

Tue, 2020-09-01

How do you weigh a long-extinct dinosaur? There are a couple of ways, as it turns out, neither of which involve actual weighing—but according to a new study, different approaches still yield strikingly similar results.

Fri, 2020-08-28

Male lions typically have manes. Male peacocks have six-foot-long tail feathers. Female eagles and hawks can be about 30% bigger than males. But if you only had these animals' fossils to go off of, it would be hard to confidently say that those differences were...

Fri, 2020-07-31

Of course, the model also shows SUE chomping down on another dinosaur.

Tue, 2020-07-14

How did the “new”, aquatic Spinosaurus fare against one of the deadliest predators to ever walk the earth?...

Sat, 2020-06-06

It’s a bit unorthodox, reaching out to those who spend their lives studying past and asking them to predict the future. But these paleontologists were happy to take on our assignment: Could you apply what you know about how life has changed over time to guess what...

Tue, 2020-05-26

Dinosaurs are a diverse group of mostly land-based animals that are related to today's reptiles and birds. 

Wed, 2020-05-13

Scientists worldwide have long debated our ability to identify male and female dinosaurs. Now, research led by Queen Mary University of London has shown that despite previous claims of success, it's very difficult to spot differences between the sexes....

Sat, 2020-04-04

There’s been an ongoing dispute over what was the world’s largest carnivorous dinosaur.

Fri, 2020-04-03

If you cut open a fossil dinosaur bone, you can see lines, just like if you were looking at rings in a tree. Trees rings happen when a tree grows slowly in a tough season like an icy cold winter. You can count the rings to see how many winters that tree has lived...

Pages