Q & A

Mon, 2021-03-01

The global extinction event that meant curtains for the dinosaurs was unlikely to have been triggered by an Earth-impacting comet fragment, several planetary scientists now argue. 

Sat, 2021-02-27

Medium-size meat-eating dinosaurs are missing from the fossil record, and paleontologists think they've figured out why. 

Mon, 2021-02-22

Practical jokes/gags have varying levels of humor, but some people mistake "hate" for "edge." There's a big difference between saying something because you're struggling with a personal topic or issue and are trying to make a great point/punchline out of that...

Tue, 2021-02-16

In the age of the dinosaurs, you could have walked from one pole to another. At that time, the continents were all joined together, forming the supercontinent Pangea. 

Wed, 2021-01-13

Even Tyrannosaurus rexes needed to nap sometimes. A still-growing fossil record is showing how dinosaurs used to doze.

Mon, 2021-01-11

Evolution is the process of life adapting to its environment. And if you’re already perfect, why change? Here’s a list of four animals who got it...

Wed, 2021-01-06

In India, palaeontologists fear that the country’s rich fossil heritage is under threat in the absence of stringent laws and preservation efforts.

Tue, 2020-12-29

From giant parrots and feathered dinosaurs to really old poop and The Bone Wars to the difference between body fossils and trace fossils, here are some fun...

Wed, 2020-12-23

Paleontologists uncovered a great deal about the “terrible lizards” in 2020.

Sun, 2020-12-20

Do you know your ammonites from your ichthyosaurs? This winter, head out to these four fossil-rich stretches of the UK coastline for palaeontology tours, bracing beach walks and quirky museums.

Pages