Prehistoric Flora & Fauna

Wed, 2021-03-31

It’s widely accepted that the primary reason dinosaurs were wiped off the face of the planet was a devastating impact from an asteroid. The ...

Wed, 2021-03-17

The deep ice at Camp Century in northwestern Greenland entirely melted at least once within the last million years and was covered with vegetation, including moss and perhaps trees, according to a paper...

Mon, 2021-03-15

Spectacular fossil plants preserved within a volcanic ash fall in China have shed light on an evolutionary race 300 million years ago, which was eventually won by the seed-bearing plants that dominate so much of the Earth today.

Thu, 2021-03-11

Noeggerathiales are enigmatic plants that existed during Carboniferous and...

Thu, 2021-03-04

Scientists examined rock cores taken from the Chicxulub crater in Mexico, site of the asteroid impact that triggered dinosaur extinction, and found iridium, a telltale sign of asteroids....

Sat, 2021-02-20

A team of geobiologists from Germany has found biologically-relevant primordial organic molecules and gases in fluid inclusions trapped in 3.5-billion-year-old barites from the Dresser mine, Marble Bar, Australia.

Wed, 2021-02-10

Flowering plants (angiosperms) are the most diverse of all land plants, becoming abundant in the...

Fri, 2021-01-29

The 635-million-year-old pyritized fungus-like microfossils found in the Ediacaran-period Doushantuo Formation in China provide direct fossil...

Thu, 2020-12-24

A team of paleontologists from Oregon State University and the Agricultural Research Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture has found a new genus and species of fossil angiosperm in the mid-...

Thu, 2020-11-12

Chinese researchers have found a peculiar fossil plant with leaves and fruits of different morphologies dating back about 125 million years, according to a local research institute.

Pages