Prehistoric Flora & Fauna

Wed, 2020-02-26

Paleontologists have discovered the microscopic fossilized remains of green seaweed near Dalian in the Liaoning province of northern China. The microfossils are approximately one billion years old. They represent a previously unknown species of green seaweed,...

Sat, 2020-02-22

A new fossil study from Stanford University shows extinction was unexpectedly common among smaller sea creatures in the deep past.

Thu, 2020-02-20

On view for over a century, a fossil slab may display evidence of tropical freezing during the Jurassic, but scientists never noticed it—until one finally did. Some colleagues are not convinced.

Sat, 2020-02-01

A new study has found dinosaur footprints in sandstone embedded between fossilized lava dating back 183 million years in southern Africa. During this time in the early...

Sat, 2020-01-25

An international team of researchers has found the microscopic fungal filaments and mycelium-like structures in 715-million-year-old (Neoproterozoic Era) dolomitic shale...

Tue, 2020-01-21

The extinction of the dinosaur is maybe one of the most exciting topics in paleontology wherein scientists offer various possible explanations as to why these apex...

Sat, 2020-01-18

Ever since a huge crater was discovered off Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula in the early 1990s, scientists have been confident that an ...

Tue, 2020-01-14

The fossilized fruiting bodies of a myxomycete from the extant genus Stemonitis preserved in Kachin amber date back some 100 million years (mid-...

Wed, 2020-01-08

New evidence gleaned from Antarctic seashells confirms that Earth was already unstable before the asteroid impact that...

Thu, 2019-12-26

Australia’s oldest angiosperms (flowering plants) are approximately 126 million years old, and they resembled modern magnolias, buttercups and laurels, according to ...

Pages