Curiosities

Sat, 2021-06-05

Paleontologists have examined 6,800- to 4,600-year-old coprolites attributed to the little bush moa (Anomalopteryx didiformis). The results support the current hypothesis...

Thu, 2021-06-03

In a paper published in the journal PeerJ, paleontologists present bite force estimates for a juvenile ...

Mon, 2021-05-31

Behind the movie star persona, there's a dinosaur more fascinating than anything Hollywood dreamt up.

Thu, 2021-05-27

While the egg was about the same size as those laid by mainland emus, a duo of avian paleontologists from Australia and the United Kingdom used it to calculate the King Island emu (Dromaius...

Wed, 2021-05-26

A duo of paleontologists from San Diego State University and the San Diego Natural History Museum has explored the transition from raptorial feeding in early baleen whales (Mysticeti) to filter-...

Sat, 2021-05-15

Ancient bones and teeth gleam under bright lights in the Melbourne Museum, surrounded by throngs of excited children — and more than one captivated adult.

Wed, 2021-05-12

Anyone who's raised a child or a pet will know just how fast and how steady their growth seems to be. You leave for a few days on a work trip and when you come home the child seems to have grown 10cm! That's all well and good for the modern household, but how did...

Sat, 2021-05-08

Shuvuuia deserti, a species of alvarezsauroid dinosaur that lived during the Late ...

Fri, 2021-05-28

Colombia has a wealth of fossils, and geologists are leading the charge to both collect data and share ancient history with local communities.

Mon, 2021-05-24

To understand the origins of our lineage it is necessary to reconstruct the morphology, behavior and environment of the last common ancestor between modern humans and other apes. However, there is no scientific consensus on the phylogenetic positions of the...

Pages