Curiosities

Tue, 2018-11-13

A powerful bite, strong teeth and repeated crunching. This is what allowed Tyrannosaurus rex to pulverize the bones of its prey. That’s the...

Sun, 2018-11-11

According to the study, charred toast and preserved dinosaur bones have in common: a chemical that turns the original proteins into something new. This process will help to understand how the cells of the soft tissue remains of dinosaurs preserved hundreds of...

Fri, 2018-11-16

Lyuba is a female woolly mammoth calf (Mammuthus primigenius) who died c. 41,800 years ago at the age of 30 to 35 days. She is by...

Wed, 2017-06-21

For more than 30 million years after dinosaurs first appeared, they remained inexplicably rare near the equator, where only a few small-bodied meat-eating dinosaurs eked out a living.

Sat, 2018-11-10

Burnt toast and dinosaur bones have a common trait, according to a new, Yale-led study.

Thu, 2018-11-08

Unexpected features in this dinosaur's teeth appear to represent early adaptations for herbivory.

Wed, 2018-11-07

Most people don't think of the mighty Tyrannosaurus rex as having the grace of a pirouetting ballerina or the poise...

Tue, 2018-11-06

Dinosaurs were among our planet’s most diverse land animals. They ranged from the chicken-sized Microraptor zhaoianus...

Mon, 2018-11-05

The most significant event of the last half-century is arguably “the Great Acceleration,” the explosive growth of our global population and economy in the wake of World War II.

Sat, 2018-11-03

Lyme Regis is an almost obnoxiously gorgeous town in Dorset in the west of England, perched atop the cliffs of the world-heritage listed Jurassic Coast.

Pages